Hello world! My first Post…a month later

I never thought I had anything witty or insightful to say or that people would want to know about the trials and tribulations in my life. After some ego boosting back in April on Twitter, I decided that I wanted to blog.  The entire process was overwhelming and I really had no idea where to start.

What would I call my blog?

What would be the tone or theme?

Which blogging site should I use?

Would this count for #11 on my list?

Endless questions…

I mulled over the different ideas. I knew that I wanted to do the blog, I just didn’t want it to seem like my personal journal.

One day, after perusing one of my favorite blogs, Letters To Twilight, I read a Twilosophy post about Bella having to make a choice between Edward and Jacob. Blog author at LTT, asked this question:

“So the whole thing got me thinking… what if she didn’t choose either of them? What if she decided to choose HERSELF?”

It hit me. That is exactly what I did. I chose myself back in October when I called off the wedding. I decided enough was enough and I deserved so much better. I needed to put myself first. I needed to choose myself and learn to actually like myself, maybe even love. I quickly went over to wordpress.com and picked the blog name: I Choose Me.

You may notice the date of this post is from 7/17, the day I signed up for this blog. Well, no excuses other than I was convinced that I needed to upload photos from my camera and I still cannot find that wire. So we may be photoless for a while, but I’m motivated to write and THAT makes me happy.

Feel free to leave love notes. Are you happy that I’m finally writing this blog?

~ by BrookeLockart on July 17, 2009.

31 Responses to “Hello world! My first Post…a month later”

  1. myello!!!!!!! welcome to blogging!

    🙂

  2. OH Brooke< awesome I Like you chose me !!!

  3. I won’t say anything trite here, just that I am so happy you chose you. You write, I’ll read and comment because let’s face it I cannot keep my mouth shut. Ever. Ever ever. That’s the deal.

  4. Glad you ventured out into the world of bloggers…i want to do the same, but don’t know where to begin…

    I believe there are alot of women who should “Choose Themselves” …You are a stronger person for it and i truly believe you have a beautiful, happy future in the making!
    I look forward to your blogs ~~ Good Luck~~

  5. I’m so glad you’re doing this! I hope it’s cathartic!

  6. On a whim, I clicked a link on a tweet I saw and came here. I’m glad I did. I have to admire anyone who can stand up and ‘choose themselves’ in such a situation. It’s not an easy thing to do. And your list is great too. I don’t live far from Philly. It’s a great downtown area. You’ll enjoy it, I’m sure. 🙂

    I followed you on twitter and wish you much luck on your list. 🙂

    /hugs

    • Thanks for checking my little corner of the interwebs out. I have a feeling where you saw that tweet. She’s great. I’m in philly now, actually grew up here. LOVE IT.

      • I’ve been hankering to go to Cereality actually. A guy I dated took me there a few times and I loved it. Yes, I’m an odd cookie lol. 🙂

      • I may have gone there the week it opened. 😉 However, I prefer Hot Cereal bars. I ❤ me some oatmeal and cream of wheat. I prefer my cream of wheat slightly lumpy.

      • I just loved the variety – hot, cold, lukewarm with every cereal and topping under the sun lol. It was a unique experience too. Loads different from sitting in my house having a bowl for dinner. Hardest thing what choosing what to eat! 🙂

  7. I am oh so happy for you!!! I know great things will come of this!!

  8. Your first post! tou past your first hurdle into Blogging and now there’s nothing stopping you!

    I’m so glad that post inspired you and I can’t wait to see what exciting stuff you’ll come up with!

    Xo
    Your Peggy

  9. Oh, the bloggy world. It’s how I’ve made my best friends.

    I choose you, too…with a bottle of wine (or 6) and a weekend-long session of Buffy DVDs. You’ll have Angel for a few seasons, I’ll have Spike…and we’ll both be happy. Amen.

    xoxo

  10. Woohoo!

    No excuses on the photos. I told you you could get a card reader that plugs into your USB. Get one!

  11. Your twits are great and it’s great you chose you and you chose to blog. Two of the best decision of your life.
    I chose me months, no, years ago and am happy I did.

  12. Clicked on your twitter from a #ff and found this and wow! I love it…the title, the meaning. I don’t think there is anyone else better to choose but you.

    BTW, I too am an LTT reader and saw a similar sentiment to the post about Bella’s choice in a Ms. mag recently. It does kinda make me wish that Bella chose herself.

  13. OMG!!! I am so excited that you got this started…I know that this will be an amazing adventure for ya!!! Can’t wait to take the journey with ya ;)!!! *hugs*!!!

  14. P.S.
    I am learning to choose me as well and thank you very much for helping with that!! I ❤ u HARDCORE BB!!!

  15. So happy that you made this – I can pretty much guarantee that it will be a good healing experience, if you’re anything like me. In thinking about this “I Choose Me” idea, I’ve realized that I’ve grown to develop a really strong sense of self-priority as far as how I’m treated by others. I’ll defend myself tooth and nail to demand respect from people, but what I haven’t learned to do is stop hating myself. Doesn’t make a whole lot of sense, now that I’m thinking about it. If you do a post on that, I’ll be your wide-eyed pupil :).

    • Sounds like we’ll be able to help each other out. I understand what you mean by hating yourself. I will eventually post about pinpointing the cause of my hate. then I imagine I’ll get lots of posts about how silly I’m being.

  16. Awe …I love it already!! I am so happy you chose you and I am really excited to read about your journey of falling in love with you 😉

    Does this mean we will be waiting another 6 weeks-ish for the next post?? Just teasing 🙂

    Congratulations!!!

  17. I sincerely am glad that you are writing/blogging. You are very clever and funny which is why I was thrilled to follow you on Twitter. I always write for myself, journal and blog but I do it for me. I think it’s cathartic and worthwhile. I look forward to following your journey and hope you can check things off your list!
    xo

  18. […] Wrote first blog post! […]

Leave a comment